Uhuru Band Biography & Net Worth

admin January 4, 2019
Updated 2023/01/23 at 7:13 PM
Uhuru Band Biography

Uhuru Band biography is about the life and times of a South African music group known for producing the famous Khona jam which was performed by the Mafikizolo group. They are also signed to the Kalawa Jazmee Reords. Uhuru (Band) comprises of Sihle Dialisisa (DJ Clap), Ngobile Mahlanu (Mapiano) , Themba Sekowe (Maphorisa) and Xelimpilo Simelane (Xeli).  On an independent scene, there are widely known for some hit remixes such as “The Sound” and “Y-tjuktja.”

Uhuru Band Biography

Uhuru band began in 2012 when Xeli and Mapiano were friends and played Contemporary African Jazz band in Soshanguve. This was where they originated from. Later on, they were introduced by DJ Clap, to the Kalawa Jazmee Records to which they got signed off.  DJ Clap, works at the DJ while Mapiano works as the pianist and Xeli works as a vocalist.

Uhuru began in 2012 but came into visibility in 2013 after they sang the song titled “Y-tjukuta” which also was given an award, (Song of the Year 2013 ) in South Africa.  They later featured in Khona which topped billboards and won a lot of awards such as 2014, MTV Africa Music Awards.  They also took some solo ambitions in 2015 and in 2016, they had a lot of challenges and so needed a new face. However, in the latter part of 2016, they released their own songs, Free Prophecy Vol.2, The Sound (Remix) and Own Devices. After this, there were rumors about break-ups.

Uhuru Band Songs

  • “Pata Pata” (2012)
  • “Work” (2012)
  • “Pepe” (2012)
  • “Not Yet Uhuru” (2012)
  • “Umraro” (2012)
  • “Follow” (2012)
  • “Ketsetse” (2013)
  • “Thathi Sgubhu” (2013)
  • “Ungowami” (2013)
  • “Sweety Mabhebeza” (2013)
  • “Y-tjukutja” (2013)
  • “Raindrops” (2014)
  • “Nne” (2014)
  • “Kumi Na Mbili” (2014)
  • “Kumi Na Tatu” (2014)
  • “Nane” (2014)
  • “Kumi” (2014)
  • “Unity in Diversity” (2015)
  • “Duze” (2015)
  • “Shoota Babylone (2015)
  • “Circles” (2015)
  • “Khona – Mafikizolo ft. Uhuru (2013)
  • “Speaker” – Professor ft. Oskido and Uhuru
  • “Move” – Becca ft. Uhuru (2014)
  • “Nakupenda” – Mafikizolo ft. Uhuru (2014)
  • “Komolop Cholop” – MC Galaxy ft. Uhuru (2015)
  • “The Sound” – Davido ft. Uhuru (2015)
  • “The Banger” – Runtown ft. Uhuru (2015)
  • “The Sound (Remix)” – Davido ft. G-Eazy and Uhuru (2016)

Uhuru Band Albums

  • Not Yet (2012)
  • Our Father (2013)
  • Safari (2014)
  • Free Prophecy, Vol 1. (2016)

Uhuru Band Awards and Nominations

  • They won 2013, Song of the Year Award
  • Nominated for 2016, Best Electronic Act at the Unsigned Music Awards (UMA) at Troxy Theatre in London.

Uhuru Band Net Worth

The Uhuru Band net worth couldn’t be ascertained as at the time of publishing but it would be updated as soon as information becomes available.


Recent News

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *